

Council Meeting Webinar Minutes Tuesday, April 7, 2020 4:30 pm–6:30 pm

Council Members Attending			
Board of Directors Terry Shevlin, President Elaine Mauldin, President-Elect Marc Rubin, Past President Mark H. Taylor, Vice President- Finance Mark DeFond, Vice President-Research & Publications Steve Kaplan, Vice President- Education Tracie Miller Nobles, Director-Focusing on Membership Wim A. Van der Stede, Director-Focusing on International Mary Harris Stanford, Director-Focusing on Intellectual Property Audrey Gramling, Director-Focusing on Segments John Hepp, Director-Focusing on Academic/Practitioner Interaction Mark Beasley, Vice President-Finance- Elect Tracey Sutherland, Executive Director	Council Officers Cindy Durtschi, Chair Nancy Nichols, Chair-Elect David Stott, Past Chair International Members-at-Large Mandy Cheng Region Representatives Ramesh Narasimhan, Mid-Atlantic Jason Stanfield, Midwest Yvette Lazdowski, Northeast Timothy Miller, Ohio Eric Bostwick, Southeast Mary Fischer, Southwest David DeBoskey, Western		Section Representatives Dale Flesher, AAH Kathy Rupar, ABO Mary Curtis, AIS H. Fred Mittelstaedt, APLG Nancy Nichols, ATA Randy Elder, AUD Sandra Shelton, DIV Brian Bushee, FARS Richard A. Riley, FAS (alt.) D. Larry Crumbley, GIWB Linda Parsons, GNP Mahendra Gujarathi, IAS Monte Swain, MAS Vaughan Radcliffe, PI Brigitte Muehlmann, SET Bambi Hora, TLC Sidney Askew, TYC
Guests & Staff Attending			
Julie Smith David, Chief Innovation Officer		Barbara Brady, Director, Operations Nancy Maciag, Executive and Board Services Manager	
Council Members Not Attending			
Lester Heitger, FAS			
Sanjay Kallapur, International Council Member-at-Large			



Council Meeting Webinar Minutes Tuesday, April 7, 2020 4:30 pm–6:30 pm

Meeting Minutes

MSC = Motion, Seconded, Carried MSF = Motion, Seconded, Failed

A. Welcome – Council Chair Cindy Durtschi welcomed everyone to the webinar, acknowledging that our regularly scheduled in-person meeting that was supposed to have taken place in March was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Today's meeting agenda will address opportunities being explored to help members with changes to academia and the support that the Association can provide.

MSC to approve the November 2019 Council Meeting minutes.

- B. Virtual Opportunities for Engagement President-Elect Elaine Mauldin led the discussion on strategies that the AAA has been investigating in the area of virtual opportunities that can assist members with teaching during the pandemic. While focusing on the overall AAA Mission Statement, there are three opportunities for Virtual Engagement that the Board is exploring: (1) Professional Virtual Space for Segments, (2) Research Relevance Series, and (3) a Virtual Spring Meeting. Executive Director Tracey Sutherland explained that the legal liabilities for existing upcoming Spring Meetings that have not yet been cancelled are still being examined. The ability to hold a virtual meeting could allow those with accepted papers to still be able to present and share their work. Using Poll Everywhere, Council members provided feedback on ideas for the three virtual opportunity options that the AAA will be exploring. The AAA is also working with members to schedule a series of upcoming webinars about online learning and teaching tips. These will be posted to the website and promoted to members.
- **C. Financial Matters** Vice President-Finance Mark Taylor gave an overview of the budget timeline and how the pandemic may affect the final budget that is supposed to be approved by the Board in May. The Finance Committee met and following their meetings, the Board is recommending that there be no change to membership dues for the 2020-2021 year.

MSC to approve no changes to the 2020-2021 membership dues from the prior year.

- D. 2020-2021 Council Chair-Elect Overview Cindy Durtschi reviewed the roles and responsibilities of the Council Chair position for the 2020-2021 Council Chair-Elect election. There are two candidates on the slate Eric Bostwick and Monte Swain. Voting will take place via electronic ballot following the April 7th Council Meeting.
- **E. 2020-2021 Nominations Committee Overview** Cindy Durtschi discussed the importance of the AAA Nominations Committee. She reviewed the names of the six candidates for the 2020-2021 AAA Nominations Committee. Voting will take place via electronic ballot following the April 7th Council Meeting.

Adjourn - The meeting adjourned at 6:05 pm